2018 U.S.-Mexico Border Summit in Collaboration with the SMU Mission Foods Texas-Mexico Center

Distinguished Speaker: Former President of Mexico,

Ernesto Zedillo 

August 15, 2018

El Paso Convention and Performing Arts Center

1 Civic Center Plaza, El Paso, TX 79901


Agenda and Speakers

Master of Ceremonies: William McKenzie, Editorial Director, George W. Bush Presidential Center



7:30 AM - 8:00 AM

Networking Breakfast

8:00 AM

Welcome Remarks

  • Beto O'Rourke, U.S. Representative (TX-16)
  • Jon Barela, CEO, Borderplex Alliance
  • Luisa Del Rosal, Executive Director, SMU Mission Foods Texas-Mexico Center 
8:15 AM - 8:55 AM

Opening Keynote Interview - Ambassador James R. Jones, Chairman of Monarch Global Strategies LLC and former United States Ambassador to Mexico and member of the U.S. House of Representatives in Conversation with Eric Farnsworth, Vice President, Council of the Americas

9:00 AM - 9:45 AM

More Than Neighbors: Understanding North America as a Single Market

Moderator: Rick Francis, Chairman and CEO, WestStar Bank

  • Thomas Fullerton, Professor & Trade in the Americas Chair, UTEP
  • Pia Orrenius, Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas and SMU Mission Foods Texas-Mexico Center Research Fellow
  • Raymond Robertson, Professor and holder of the Helen and Roy Ryu Chair in Economics and Government in the Department of International Affairs at the Bush School of Government and Public Service, Texas A&M University and SMU Mission Foods Texas-Mexico Center Research Fellow
  • Patrick Schaefer, Executive Director, Hunt Institute for Global Competitiveness
10:00 AM - 10:45 AM

Border Infrastructure: Opportunities and Challenges

Moderator: Fernando Macias, County Manager, Dona Ana County, NM

  • John Balliew, CEO, El Paso Water
  • Miguel Fernandez, CEO, Transtelco
  • Ivan Jaime, Director Public Affairs, Union Pacific
  • Mary Kipp, President & CEO, El Paso Electric
11:00 AM - 11:45 AM

What’s Next? The Future of U.S. - Mexico Relations

Moderator: Jorge Ruiz, Principal, Corporate & Securities, Baker & McKenzie Abogados, S.C.

  • Tony Payan, Director, Mexico Center at the Baker Institute, Rice University
  • Richard Pineda, Director, Sam Donaldson Center for Communication Studies, UTEP
  • Matthew Rooney, Director Economic Growth, George W. Bush Institute
  • Kent Walz, Senior Editor, Albuquerque Journal
  • Will Hurd, U.S. Representative (TX-23) 
12:00 PM

2018 Distinguished Speaker Keynote Address: Former President of Mexico, Ernesto Zedillo

2:00 PM - 2:45 PM

CEO Perspectives: Cross-Border Manufacturing

Sponsored by 

Moderator: Lane Gaddy, CEO, W Silver

  • Julio Chiu, President and CEO, Seisa
  • Alfredo Duarte, CEO, TAXCO Produce
  • Tiffany Melvin, President, NASCO
  • Salomon Noble, CEO, Intermex
  • Alan Russell, Chairman & CEO, TECMA
3:00 PM - 3:45 PM

Mayors Roundtable: Governance in the World's Largest Binational Community

Moderator: Matthew B. Myers, Dean, SMU Cox School of Business

  • Armando Cabada, Mayor of Cd. Juarez, Chihuahua
  • Ken Miyagishima, Mayor of Las Cruces, New Mexico
  • Dee Margo, Mayor of El Paso, Texas
  • Javier Perea, Mayor of Sunland Park, New Mexico
4:00 PM

Closing Remarks

  • Jon Barela, CEO, Borderplex Alliance
  • Luisa Del Rosal, Executive Director, Mission Foods Texas-Mexico Center

*Agenda is subject to change.

About Former President of Mexico, Ernesto Zedillo Ernesto Zedillo

Ernesto Zedillo is the Director of the Yale Center for the Study of Globalization; Professor in the Field of International Economics and Politics; Professor of International and Area Studies; and Professor Adjunct of Forestry and Environmental Studies at Yale University.

After almost a decade with the Central Bank of Mexico he served as Undersecretary of the Budget, Secretary of Economic Programming and the Budget, and Secretary of Education before serving as President of Mexico from 1994-2000. He is Chairman of the Board of the Natural Resource Governance Institute and the Rockefeller Foundation Economic Council on Planetary Health and Co-Chair of the Inter-American Dialogue. He is a member of The Elders, an independent group of global leaders using their collective experience and influence for peace, justice, and human rights worldwide. He serves on the Global Commission on Drug Policy, the High-Level Board of Experts on the Future of Global Trade Governance and on the Selection Committee of the Aurora Prize for Awakening Humanity. From 2010 to 2012 he served as Vice Chair of the Global Commission on Elections, Democracy, and Security, chaired by Kofi Annan; from 2005 to 2011, as Chair of the Global Development Network; and from 2008 to 2010 as Chair of the High-Level Commission on Modernization of World Bank Group Governance.

He is a Member of the Group of 30, a consultative group on international economic and monetary affairs. In 2011 he was elected an international member of the American Philosophical Society. He earned his Bachelor’s degree from the School of Economics of the Natìonal Polytechnic Institute in Mexico and his M.A. and Ph.D. at Yale University. His edited volumes include: Africa at a Fork in the Road: Taking Off or Disappointment Once Again? (2015); Rethinking the War on Drugs through the US-Mexico Prism (2012); Global Warming: Looking Beyond Kyoto (2008); and The Future of Globalization: Explorations in Light of Recent Turbulence (2008).

Thank You to Our Distinguished Speaker Sponsors

Interested in being a sponsor? Please download and return our sponsorship packet

2018 U.S. Border Summit Sponsors


For Visitors

Block accommodations at the Aloft Hotel are available until August 14th. Subject to availability. 

Aloft Hotel El Paso Downtown

Aloft El Paso Downtown

303 Texas Avenue. El Paso, TX 79901
(915) 351-7990

Make Reservation